What Are The Categories On A Driving Licence?

What Are The Categories On A Driving Licence?

What Are The Categories On A Driving Licence? There are 3 general types of driver’s licenses: (1) the commercial driver’s license; (2) the chauffeur’s license; and (3) the personal vehicle driver’s license. The 3 types of commercial drivers are Class A, B, and C licenses.

What are the categories on a UK driving Licence? Standard UK driving licence categories
Category AM.
Category B.
Category F.
Category K.
Category Q.
Category B1.
Category B+E.
Category B auto.

What are the categories on a driving license? UK Driver Licence Codes & Categories defined
Moped and Motorcycle Categories. Category AM Licence.
Car and Light Vehicle Categories. Category B Licence.
Van and Commercial Vehicle Categories. Category C1 Licence.
Minibus and Coach Categories. Category D1 Licence.
Pedestrian Controlled Vehicle Categories. Category K Licence.

What does category B mean on driving Licence? The category B licence lets you drive a motor vehicle with a maximum weight of up to 3,500kg, it can’t have more than eight passenger seats. If you want to use a trailer the most it can weigh without additional hassle is 750kg.

What Are The Categories On A Driving Licence? – Related Questions

What do the letters and numbers mean on my driving Licence?

849339 – First and last numbers are the year of birth. Second and third numbers are month of birth. (Note: in the case of female driving licence holders, ‘5’ is added to the second digit, this means that the second digit will be 5 or 6). The fourth and fifth digits are the day of the month of your birth.

What’s a category A vehicle?

Category A write-offs are vehicles that have suffered severe structural damage.
They can’t be repaired.
The car’s chassis and/or bodyshell (the components that give a car its strength in a crash) may have been heavily damaged in an accident, or it may have been burnt-out in a fire.

What motorbike can I ride with a car Licence?

Yes, if you have a full car licence you can ride a 125cc scooter or motorbike. However, you must take and pass your compulsory basic training (CBT) before riding on the road. With a completed CBT, you can ride a 125cc motorcycle on the road with L plates.

How do I get a category C license?

Steps to obtain a Cat C+E licence
Step 1: Obtain a car driving licence.
Step 2: Apply for a provisional lorry licence.
Step 3: Take the Driver Certificate of Professional Competence (CPC) test.
Step 4: Take the Category E practical test.

What do codes on driving Licence mean?

The codes printed on the back of your driving licence tell you what conditions you must meet to drive.
Some codes may be different in Northern Ireland.
The codes and their meanings are as follows: 01 – eyesight correction, for example glasses or contact lenses.

What is Category C on a driving Licence?

A category C license allows drivers to drive vehicles over 3.5 tonnes, but must not exceed 32 tonnes. Category C (or Class 2 as they are otherwise known) licenses typically cover a vehicle with a cab and trailer fixed permanently together.

What can I drive with a category B Licence?

Category B – if you passed your test on or after .
You can drive vehicles up to 3,500kg MAM with up to 8 passenger seats (with a trailer up to 750kg).
You can also tow heavier trailers if the total MAM of the vehicle and trailer is not more than 3,500kg.

What is a category B1 Licence?

A B1 driving licence category would be motor vehicles not exceeding 550kg and a C1 category driving licence (large goods vehicle) allows you to drive vehicles weighing between 3,500 and 7,500kg. See below a list of the latest driving licence category codes and descriptions issued by the DVLA.

Can I drive a van on Category B?

Driving most vans is pretty simple, so if you have a full, B category car license, you’re permitted to drive any van weighing up to 3.5 tonnes.

What is Code 119 on driving Licence?

They show what (if any) restrictions, and vehicle adaptation codes your driving entitlement has.

General restrictions.
Code Description
114 with any special controls required for safe driving
115 organ donor
118 start date is for earliest entitlement
119 weight limit does not apply
28 more rows

What does Fkq mean on a driving Licence?

The letter “K” indicates that you can drive a pedestrian controlled machine such as a lawn mower. The letter “Q” means that the license holder can operate a two and three wheel pedaled vehicle with an engine of no more than 50cc size and a total high speed of 25 kph (15.5 mph).

How do I get more driving Licence categories?

Get a ‘provisional entitlement’ and then take a test to get higher categories added to your licence. You may also be automatically entitled to lower categories if you pass a higher category driving test. Check online to see which vehicles you can drive at the moment.

Does a private seller have to declare Cat N?

Should the person who sold me the vehicle have said it is in Cat N

Does Cat n show on V5?

Does Category N show on a V5 document


Insurance write-off categories at a glance


Structurally damaged repairable.

Non-structurally damaged repairable.

Can I ride a 250cc motorbike on a car Licence?

Yes if you have taken and passed your full motorcycle test for category A1, A2 or A OR your CBT certificate is still valid. You can ride up to 125cc with a valid CBT certificate. (or a full motorcycle licence category A) A 250cc motorcycle will required a full motorcycle licence.

What Licence do I need to ride a Lambretta?

Any bike or scooter with an engine up to 125cc and a power output of 11kW is regarded as a ‘learner’ bike. At 17 you can move from moped to learner motorbike. You will need a provisional motorcycle licence and, if you haven’t done it yet, the CBT.

Frank Slide - Outdoor Blog
Enable registration in settings - general